Skip to main content

Tests & Measurement Instruments

Additional Help


Consortium Library reference staff are available...

by instant message:

Chat now with a librarian.

by phone:
907-786-1977 

by e-mail:
ayref@uaa.alaska.edu

in person:
Reference Desk on 1st floor
Service hours

Search Databases to Find Articles with Tests or Information About Tests

Finding tests using databases is not easy or intuitive. Follow these steps for each of these databases, but if you need help, please do not hesitate to contact a reference librarian.

ERIC (Ebsco)

You can use ERIC to find information about tests.  Sometimes you can retrieve articles containing a copy of the test or measurement instrument itself.

  • Search by title (test name), keyword, or phrase describing the atribute(s) you wish to measure.
    • Sample Search:     test anxiety AND appended
      • Use the word, "appended" to bring up articles in which the test is "appended."  You may try other similar terms as well.
      • In the "Limit Your Results" area towards the bottom right of the screen, choose "tests/questionnaires."
      • If you get stuck, contact a Reference Librarian.

ETS TestLink 

  •  This database is maintained by the Educational Testing Service (ETS)
  • It contains descriptions of over 25,000 published and unpublished tests and measurements
  • There is a very simple seach interface
  • The "Availability" field will tell you where to find the actual test:
    • If there is an article citation, you will need to copy the citation and initiate a by citation or by journal search for the article from the Library website.
    • If it says "Tests in Microfiche" or TIM, we will have it in the library in our microfiche collection near the newspaper shelves on the first floor.  Some TIMs are also available (for a fee) from this database.
    • If the citation has a person's name or the name of a company (publisher), most likely it will be available only for purchase.  Students can often obtain copies of these tests if they can get their professor to request a copy on their behalf from the publisher/author to be used for research purposes.

(NOTE: TESTLINK IS NOT FULLY FUNCTIONAL ON SUNDAYS WHILE ETS UPLOADS NEW INFORMATION INTO THE DATABASE)

PsycINFO

You can use PsycINFO to find information about tests and perhaps the tests themselves.

  •   Search by title (test name), keyword, or phrase describing the atribute(s) you wish to measure.
    • Sample topic search:                Stress AND appended
      • Limit the word Stress to the subject field (if desired)
      • Use the word, "appended" to bring up articles in which the test is "appended."  You may try other similar terms as well.
      • Under "Limit Your Results--Classification Codes" (bottom left)- select "Clinical Psychological Testing" and/or "Personality Scales and Inventories" or another code that is more descriptive of your desired outcome.
      • If you get stuck, contact a reference librarian
Note: Even if a test is not appended, this is a good way to find the names of tests, which you can then look for in books or other databases.