Skip to main content

History Resources

Reference Books

A good place to start gathering information on American/United States History

American National Biography (24 vol.)   REF CT 213.A68 1998

Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History (5 vol.)   REF E 162.C68 2006

The Early Republic & Antebellum America - An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural & Economic History  (4 vols.)  REF E 301.E146 2010

American Eras Prehistory-1899 (8 vol.)   REF E 169.1.A471979

American Decades 1910-1999 (9 vol.)   REF E 169.12.A419

The Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War: A Political, Social, and Military History (5 vol.)   REF E 208.E64 2006

Encyclopedia of the Reconstruction Era (2 vol.)   REF E 668.E53 2006

Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American & Philippine-American Wars (3 vol.)  REF E 715.E53 2009

The Great Depression and the New Deal A Thematic Encyclopedia (2 vol.)  REF E 801.G74 2010

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression (2 vol.)   REF E 806.E63 2004

The Sixties in America (3 vol.)   REF E 841.S55 1999

Historical Atlas of the United States   REF G 1201.S1 H4 2007 (located on Atlas Case)

Refworks / Manage Your Research

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

Starting Points

American History Web Resources

National Museum of American History     http://americanhistory.si.edu/

Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents     http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/

Library of Congress Digital Collections     http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Library of Congress' Americas Story     http://www.americaslibrary.gov/

United States History on the Web     http://countrystudies.us/united-states/

Shelburne Museum (Vermont)     http://www.shelburnemuseum.org/#

PBS American History Links     http://www.pbs.org/history/history_united.html

Profiles of United States Presidents     http://www.whitehouse.gov/about/presidents/

Making of America Digital Collections     http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Find Books / Catalog

Find books in the Consortium Library, as well as other Anchorage and Alaska libraries

Find Books

Library Catalog

more options

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

 

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney's picture
Ralph Courtney
Contact:
907.786.1911

Need More Help?