Skip to main content

History Resources

Reference Books

A good place to start to gather information on Military History

 

Oxford Companion to Military History   REF D 25.A2 O94 2001

The Harper Encyclopedia of Military History (4th ed.)   REF D 25.D86 1993

The Encyclopedia of World War I - A Political, Social & Military History (5 vol.)   REF D 510.E53 2005

The Encyclopedia of World War II - A Political, Social & Military History (5 vol.)   REF D 740.E516 2005

The Encyclopedia of the Korean War, A Political, Social, and Military History 2nd ed. (3 vol.)  REF DS 918.E53 2010

International Conflict, A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management 1945-1995   REF D 842.B46 1997

The Historical Atlas of World War II   REF G 1038.P55 1995

West Point Atlas of American Wars (2 vol.)   REF G 1201.S1 U5 1995

Women and War: A Historical Encyclopedia From Antiquity to the Present (2 vol.)   REF U 24.W69 2006

The Definitive Visual History of WAR  REF U 39.W36 2009

The Harper Encyclopedia of Military Biography   REF U 51.D87 1992

Encyclopedia of the American Military (3 vol.)   REF UA 23.E56 1994

The Roman Army: A Social & Institutional History   REF U 35.S625 2006

Japanese Army handbook 1939-1945   REF UA 847.F6 1999

Encyclopedia of the Veteran in America  REF UB 357.E53 2009

An Encyclopedia of Naval History   REF V 27.B86 1997

RefWorks / Manage Your Research

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

Starting Points

Warfare/ Military History Web Resources

U.S. Army Center of Military History   http://www.history.army.mil/index.html     

U.S. Army War College   http://www.carlisle.army.mil/    

Military History Online   http://www.militaryhistoryonline.com/ 

World War I Document Archive   http://wwi.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page 

 A History of Warfare  http://www.historyworld.net/wrldhis/PlainTextHistories.asp?historyid=aa29   

Naval History & Heritage  http://www.history.navy.mil/    

Military History Encyclopedia on the Web  http://www.historyofwar.org/   

The World War II Multimedia Database   http://www.worldwar2database.com/   

Austro-Hungarian Land Forces (1848-1918)   http://www.austro-hungarian-army.co.uk/   

Trenches on the Web - An Internet History of the Great War  http://www.worldwar1.com/  

Technology of Warfare (Modern)   http://www.howstuffworks.com/war-tech.htm     

 

Catalog / Find Books

Find books in the Consortium Library, as well as other Anchorage and Alaska libraries

Find Books

Library Catalog

more options

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

 

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney's picture
Ralph Courtney
Contact:
907.786.1911

Need More Help?