Skip to main content

History Resources

Reference Books

A good place to start gathering information about Native American History

 

Handbook of North American Indians (Smithsonian, 17 vols.)  REF E 77.H25 v.#

Atlas of the North American Indian   REF E 77.W195 2000

American Indian Biographies   REF E 98.A46 2005

American Indian History (2 vol.)   REF E 77.A496 2003

Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World - 15000 Years of Inventions & Innovations  REF E 54.5.K46 2002

Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal (2 vol. - includes Primary Documents)  REF E 98.R4 E63 2011

Encyclopedia of Native American Wars & Warfare  REF E 81.E98 2005

American Indian Religious Traditions - An Encyclopedia (3 vol.)  REF E 98.R3 C755 2005

 

RefWorks / Manage Your Research

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

Starting Points

Native American Web Resources

Native American History   http://guides.lib.washington.edu/history-nativeam

Index of Native American History Resources on the Internet   http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/indices/NAhistory.html

Internet Public Library - Native American History   http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum30.55.85.50/

National Museum of the American Indian     http://www.nmai.si.edu/

Library of Congress Digital Collections     http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Find Books / Catalog

Find books in the Consortium Library, as well as other Anchorage and Alaska libraries

Find Books

Library Catalog

more options

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

 

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney's picture
Ralph Courtney
Contact:
907.786.1911

Need More Help?