Skip to main content

History Resources

Reference Books

Very good place to start gathering background information on Russian/Soviet History

Encyclopedia of Russian History (4 vol.)   REF DK 14.E63 2004

Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Soviet Union   REF DK 32.M62 1989

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture   REF DK 510.32.E53 2007

The Republics and Regions of the Russian Federation - Politics, Policies, and Leaders   REF JN 6699.A88 R47 1997

The Russian Revolution and Civil War 1917-1921: An Annotated Bibliography (J.D. Smele ED)   REF DK 265.S57 2003

RefWorks / Manage your Research

 

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

Starting Points

Russia/USSR Web Resources

Russian History (Bucknell University)  http://www.bucknell.edu/x17601.xml

Russian & Soviet History Resources  http://facstaff.bloomu.edu/hickey/Russian%20and%20Soviet%20History%20Resource%20Page.htm

The School of Russian & Asian Studies / Russian Archives & Primary Documents  http://www.sras.org/library_russian_archives

H-Russia Discussion Network  http://www.h-net.org/~russia

Russian Cultural Heritage Network   http://www.rchn.org.ru/defengl.htm

History & Culture of Russia   http://www.geographia.com/russia/rushis01.htm

Soviet History Archive     http://www.marxists.org/history/ussr/

Revelations From the Russian Archives     http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/archives/intro.html

Web Links - RUSSIAN REVOLUTION     http://www.barnsdle.demon.co.uk/russ/rusrev.html

The HISTORY Guide - RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Resources     http://www.historyguide.org/europe/rusrev_links.html

The TROTSKY Internet Archive     http://www.marxists.org/archive/trotsky/index.htm

The LENIN Internet Archive     http://www.marxists.org/archive/lenin/

The STALIN Internet Archive     http://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/stalin/

PBS - The Face of Russia     http://www.pbs.org/weta/faceofrussia/timeline-index.html

Alexander Palace Time Machine   http://alexanderpalace.org/palace/mainpage.html

Communal Living in Russia/A Virtual Museum of Soviet Everyday Life   www.kommunalka.spb.ru

GULAG: Many Days, Many Lives   http://gulaghistory.org

Kennan Institute, NPR Russian History Audio Archive   http://www.wilsoncenter.org/index.cfm?topic_id=1424&fuseaction=topics.media

Lenin Mausoleum: A History in Photos   http://www.aha.ru/~mausoleu

Soviet Music   http://www.sovmusic.ru/english/index.php

STALINKA: Digital Library of Staliniana   http://images.library.pitt.edu/s/stalinka

The Whisperers: Private Life in Stalin's Russia   http://www.orlandofiges.com/

Find Books / Catalog

Find books in the Consortium Library, as well as other Anchorage and Alaska libraries

Find Books

Library Catalog

more options

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

 

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney's picture
Ralph Courtney
Contact:
907.786.1911

Need More Help?