Skip to main content

History Resources

Reference Books

Very good place to start gathering background information on Women in History.

A Biographical Dictionary of Native American Women   REF E 98.W8 S65 1998

Black Women In America (3 vol.)   REF E 185.86.B542 2005

Women in World History (17 vol.)   REF HQ 1115.W6 1999

Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics   REF HQ 1236.5.U6 E52 2008 

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America  REF HQ 1410.C85 1996

Milestones: A Chronology of American Women's History  REF HQ 1410.W434 1997

Encyclopedia of Women in the American West  REF HQ 1438.W45 E53 2003

Women & War: A Historical Encyclopedia From Antiquity to the Present (2 vol.)   REF U 24.W69 2006

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History (4 vol.)  REF HQ 1121.O93 2008

RefWorks / Manage your Research

 

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

Starting Points

Women's History Web Resources

Digital Librarian - Women's Resources  http://www.maurin.net/clarin/mujer/women.html

Discovering American Women's History Online  http://library.mtsu.edu/digitalprojects/womenshistory.php

Internet Women's History Sourcebook  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/women/womensbook.html

Women Pioneers in American Memory  http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/features/women/women.html

Library of Congress Gateway to American Women's History and Culture     http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/

Libraries & Print Archives - American Women's History     http://www.academicinfo.net/uswomenlibraries.html

National Women's History Project     http://www.nwhp.org/

Women's History Primary Sources

African American Women (Duke University)  http://library.duke.edu/specialcollections/collections/digitized/african-american-women/

By Popular Demand - Votes for Women Suffrage Pictures 1850-1920   http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/vfwhtml/vfwhome.html

Civil War Women (Duke University)  http://library.duke.edu/specialcollections/bingham/guides/cwdocs.html

The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project (George Washington University)  http://www.gwu.edu/~erpapers/

Hearts at Home: Southern Women in the Civil War (University of Virginia)  http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/exhibits/hearts/

Not for Ourselves Alone: Ths Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony  (PBS)  http://www.pbs.org/stantonanthony/

Women at Work: Work History of Women in America (Connecticut History Online)  http://www.cthistoryonline.org/cdm-cho/cho/journeys/j_div_wom_intro.html

Find Books

Find Books

Library Catalog

more options

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney's picture
Ralph Courtney
Contact:
907.786.1911

Need More Help?