Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by Author.


  Search:
Jump to:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | W | #

A
Accounting and Taxation
by Trina Carter - last updated on Jan 8, 2012

Agriculture
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Feb 2, 2012

Alaska
by Page Brannon, Nancy Lesh - last updated on Jan 10, 2012


Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline construction collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on May 17, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the construction of the Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Alaska State Legislators and legislation
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Jan 6, 2012
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Alaska legislators and legislation. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

ANCSA, ANILCA, and d-2 collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Nov 15, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections relating to the ANCSA, ANILCA, and the D-2 clause of ANCSA, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Anthropology
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Oct 17, 2011

Anthropology collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Aug 31, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Anthropology, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

APA 6th Edition
by Page Brannon, Anna Bjartmarsdottir - last updated on Dec 7, 2011
Online handout for APA CAFE session, 11/06/2009.




APU Research Methods (ES 60100)
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Dec 9, 2011



Archives in Alaska
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Jan 10, 2012
List of archives in Alaska.

Art
by Juli Braund-Allen - last updated on Dec 14, 2011

Auto / Diesel
by Robin Hanson - last updated on Sep 9, 2009
This guide will help you get started with your research.

Aviation History
by Susan Mitchell - last updated on Oct 17, 2011

Aviation Technology
by Susan Mitchell - last updated on Dec 8, 2011
This guide provides links and advice for using article databases, journals, catalogs, and websites for doing research in Aviation Technology and its associated programs.

Back to Top

B
Biography
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Nov 3, 2011

Biological Sciences
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Feb 2, 2012

Biology 115 (Fundamentals of Biology)
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Jan 26, 2012



Biology 340 (General Microbiology)
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Jan 27, 2011

Biology 471 (Immunochemistry)
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Dec 9, 2011

Book Reports and Book Reviews
by Page Brannon - last updated on Nov 5, 2011

Books of the Year
by Jodee Kawasaki - last updated on Oct 29, 2009
2009-10: Responding to Climate Change in Alaska

Business and Management
by Trina Carter - last updated on Jan 8, 2012

Back to Top

C
Chemistry
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Dec 9, 2011

Coffee
by Coral Sheldon-Hess - last updated on Jan 11, 2012
Coffee may just be the best thing ever.

Collections with international content
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Nov 4, 2011
A guide to selected collections with materials from outside the United States.

Communication and Speech
by Deb Mole - last updated on Nov 30, 2011

Computer Science
by Mike Robinson - last updated on Dec 19, 2011
Databases, eJournals, books and websites.

Construction Management
by Trina Carter - last updated on Dec 8, 2011
Here you will find Library and other information resources for support of courses, teaching, and research in Construction Management.

Consumer Health Websites
by Kathy Murray, Sigrid Brudie - last updated on Jan 20, 2012

Copyright
by Kate Gordon - last updated on Sep 9, 2010
This guide can help you get started understanding copyright use.

Creative Writing & Literary Arts Program Library Guide
by Anna Bjartmarsdottir - last updated on Oct 10, 2011
Library portal for the low-residency MFA program

Credo Search Boxes
by Judy Green - last updated on Jan 11, 2012
Search boxes to use from Credo Reference - these don't have proxy prefix so will need to add that.

Culinary Arts
by Susan Mitchell - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

Back to Top

D
Della Keats / UDoc
by Kathy Murray, Daria O. Carle - last updated on Jan 24, 2012

Dental Assisting / Dental Hygiene
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Jan 27, 2012
A guide to resources for students in the Dental Assisting and Dental Hygiene programs at UAA.

Dentists
by Kathy Murray, Sigrid Brudie - last updated on Jan 18, 2012

Dietetics and Nutrition
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Nov 14, 2011
Authoritative resources for research in dietetics and nutrition.

Back to Top

E
Economics
by Trina Carter - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

ED 675 (Research and Writing)
by Judy Green - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

EDFN 304 (Comparative Education)
by Judy Green - last updated on Dec 8, 2011
Research guide for finding relevant and scholarly information about the educational systems in foreign countries and how they compare with the educational system in the U.S.


Education
by Judy Green - last updated on Feb 1, 2012

Education archives collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Nov 21, 2011
A list of collections that contain materials related to education such as papers from schools, teachers, university faculty, politicians, and organizations.

Engineering
by Kate Gordon - last updated on Dec 14, 2011

Engineering Practice 151
by Kate Gordon - last updated on Sep 28, 2011
Engineering Practice 151


English Language and Literature
by Anna Bjartmarsdottir - last updated on Dec 14, 2011
Library resources in English Language and Literature

Environmental Studies
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Feb 2, 2012

Evaluating Internet Sources
by Page Brannon - last updated on Jul 6, 2011

Back to Top

F
Faculty Toolkit
by Page Brannon, Deb Mole - last updated on Nov 8, 2011

Fine Arts collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on May 18, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Fine Arts. They are listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Food Sustainability
by Susan Mitchell - last updated on Oct 17, 2011

Back to Top

G
Geocaching
by Coral Sheldon-Hess - last updated on Dec 14, 2011

Geography and Environmental Studies collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Nov 22, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Geography and Environmental Studies. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Geography Resources
by Kevin Keating - last updated on Jan 11, 2012
Geography encompasses the study of the Earth's natural features, climate, resources and human populations. At UAA, there is a strong emphasis on human interactions with their physical environments.

Geology
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Oct 27, 2011


Gold rush collections.
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Dec 2, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the history of gold rushes in Alaska and the Klondike. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents

Government Documents
by Rebecca Moorman - last updated on Nov 17, 2011

Grants, Scholarships, and Fundraising
by Deb Mole - last updated on May 20, 2011

Back to Top

H
Health Sciences
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Nov 28, 2011

History Resources
by Kevin Keating - last updated on Jan 11, 2012
In its broadest sense, History is the branch of knowledge covering all recorded human events around the globe. This guide will help you get started on researching topics from this complex and diverse subject.

Human Services
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Nov 30, 2011

Back to Top

J

Justice / Criminology
by Page Brannon - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

Back to Top

L
Languages
by Christie Ericson - last updated on Dec 14, 2011

Law
by Page Brannon - last updated on Feb 1, 2012

Literature Reviews (or Reviews of the Literature)
by Judy Green - last updated on Jan 19, 2012
Defines "literature review" and provides resources for how to find them and/or to write them.

Logistics and Supply Chain Management
by Trina Carter - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

Back to Top

M
MAT Independent Research- APU
by Judy Green - last updated on Jan 11, 2012

Matanuska Colony
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on May 18, 2011
Collections with archival materials that relate to the Matanuska Colony, a New Deal project in which families from Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Chicago settled in Matanuska and Palmer.

Mathematics / Statistics
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Dec 1, 2011

Medical Laboratory Science
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Feb 1, 2012
A guide to finding information for medical laboratory professionals.

Medicine and Health related collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Jan 10, 2012
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to medicine and health topics. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Medicine in Literature
by Kathy Murray - last updated on Feb 1, 2012
Memoirs and other books with a health, bereavement, or particular disease focus to support book clubs and to provide a patient point-of-view for students in the healthcare disciplines.


Miners and mining collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Dec 2, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to miners and mining in Alaska, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.


Music
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Sep 22, 2011

Back to Top

N
Newspapers
by Page Brannon, Deb Mole, Anna Bjartmarsdottir - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

NS 120: Nursing Fundamentals
by Kathy Murray - last updated on Jan 31, 2012

NS 204: Nursing Informatics
by Kathy Murray - last updated on Jan 31, 2012
Library supporting material for NS 204 course.

NS 400: Nursing Research
by Kathy Murray - last updated on Dec 16, 2011

Nursing (Hospital) Guide
by Kathy Murray - last updated on Jan 18, 2012

Nursing Subject Guide
by Kathy Murray - last updated on Jan 20, 2012

Back to Top

O
Occupational Safety and Health
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Feb 2, 2012
Resources for the protection of the health of workers, the prevention of occupational injuries and disease, and related environmental issues.

Back to Top

P

Philosophy
by Juli Braund-Allen - last updated on Nov 10, 2011

Physics / Astronomy
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Nov 10, 2011

Polar Regions
by Nancy Lesh - last updated on May 20, 2011

Political Science Resources
by Kevin Keating - last updated on Jan 25, 2012
POLITICAL SCIENCE is here divided, for convenience of searching, into 5 distinct areas: International Relations, American Government, Elections/Political Behavior, Comparative Politics, and Political Philosophy

Psychology
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

Public Administration
by Trina Carter - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

Public Health
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Feb 2, 2012
This guide provides online resources that focus on the interests and research needs of public health students and professionals working in Alaska.

Public Health Professionals
by Kathy Murray, Sigrid Brudie - last updated on Jan 18, 2012

Back to Top

Q
Quantity Food Purchasing
by Susan Mitchell - last updated on Sep 2, 2011

Back to Top

R

RefWorks
by Coral Sheldon-Hess - last updated on Jan 5, 2012
This guide provides information and tutorials about using RefWorks.

Religion
by Juli Braund-Allen - last updated on Nov 10, 2011

Back to Top

S
Sabbaticals
by Kate Gordon, Daria O. Carle, Judy Green - last updated on Sep 4, 2011
Description of sites and resources related to sabbatical planning or opportunities

Senior Project (APU)
by Judy Green - last updated on Feb 2, 2012
A brief overview of the online resources available to you through the Library.

Skiing and mountaineering collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on May 18, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to skiing and mountaineering. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Social Work
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

Sociology
by Ralph Courtney - last updated on Oct 17, 2011

SPAN A301 and 302 -- Advanced Spanish -- Dr. Francisco Miranda
by Trina Carter, Kevin Keating - last updated on Feb 3, 2012
This research guide will help you locate information in English and Spanish for your research project for Advanced Spanish

Statistics
by Daria O. Carle - last updated on Dec 1, 2011

Back to Top

T
Technology
by Mike Robinson - last updated on Aug 24, 2011

Tests & Measurement Instruments
by Judy Green - last updated on Jan 23, 2012

Textbooks
by Sally Bremner - last updated on Jan 30, 2012
A student's guide for finding textbooks

The 1930s
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on May 18, 2011
A selected list of collections with material from the 1930s.

Theater & Dance
by Robin Hanson - last updated on May 20, 2011


Tourism in Alaska
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Oct 25, 2011
Collections that document people's visit to Alaska.

Twitter
by Coral Sheldon-Hess - last updated on May 20, 2011
While this is not all-encompassing, my hope is that this guide will help you get started with Twitter, whether you are using it for coursework, for conferences, or just for fun. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or suggestions.

Back to Top

W
Women's Studies/Gender Studies
by Connie Thomas - last updated on Dec 8, 2011

World War II in Alaska
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Feb 2, 2012
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the history of gold rushes in Alaska and the Klondike. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the link to a more complete listing of the collection contents.


Back to Top

#
1964 Alaska earthquake collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - last updated on Aug 30, 2011
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to 1964 Alaska earthquake. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Back to Top

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Featured Author

Profile Image
Daria O. Carle