This is the "Home" page of the "Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Biological Sciences  Tags: biology life_sciences natural_history  

Last update: Jan 20th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/biological_sciences  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Home            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Biological Sciences 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Biology and Natural History

Loading
Loading RSS Feed...
 

Article Databases

  • BIOSIS Previews  
      
    Examine life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
  • CSA Family of Databases
    The CSA databases cover major areas of research, including biological sciences, environmental sciences and pollution management, fisheries and aquatic sciences, biotechnology, and materials science.
  • Biological Sciences (CSA)
    Interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
  • Environmental Science & Pollution Management (CSA)
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
  • Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (CSA)
    Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources, including 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals. Coverage is from 1991 to present.
  • Academic Search Premier
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
 

Additional Resources

Agricola
Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, botany, forestry, plant and animal science, and nutrition.  more info

Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (CSA)
Emphasizes literature related to algae, fungi, protozoa, and lichens.  more info

Animal Behavior Abstracts (CSA)
Indispensable resource for animal behavior and related studies.  more info

Arctic & Antarctic Regions
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am -5pm Mon - Fri  more info

Bacteriology Abstracts (CSA)
Index to all aspects of bacteriology.  more info

BioEngineering Abstracts (CSA)
Medical and biological applications of engineering.  more info

Biological and Agricultural Index
Leading publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology.  more info

BioOne Journals at ARLIS
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am -5pm Mon - Fri  more info

Blackwell Science Synergy
Electronic journals primarily in the sciences from Blackwell Publishing.  more info

Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts (CSA)
Research literature related to calcium and its role in bone metabolism.  more info

Chemoreception Abstracts (CSA)
Covers research studies of the biology and sensory studies of taste, smell, and pheromones.  more info

Compendex
Compendex on Engineering Village 2 - Multidisciplinary Engineering  more info

Current Contents: Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sci
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am - 5pm Mon - Fri  more info

Ecology Abstracts (CSA)
Focuses on how organisms interact with their environments and each other.  more info

EIS Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (CSA)
Abstracts of environmental impact statements released by the federal government.  more info

Entomology Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage includes literature related to insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods.  more info

Environment Complete
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am - 5pm Mon -Fri  more info

Environmental Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.  more info

Fish and Fisheries Worldwide
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am -5pm Mon - Fri  more info

General Science Abstracts
General science literature from the U.S. and Europe.  more info

Genetics Abstracts (CSA)
Searches literature in the field of molecular genetics.  more info

Human Genome Abstracts (CSA)
Comprehensive source for developments from international genome research.  more info

Immunology Abstracts (CSA)
Abstracts of studies relating to all aspects of immune systems in man and animals.  more info

Industrial and Applied Microbiology (CSA)
Includes findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.  more info

NTIS
The DARTS System is a product of the collaborative efforts of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) and the Government Printing Office.  more info

Nucleic Acids Abstracts (CSA)
Detailed perspectives on RNA, DNA, gene sequences, and proteins.  more info

Oceanic Abstracts (CSA)
Focuses on technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment.  more info

Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts (CSA)
Indexing to experimental and clinical literature focusing on mechanisms of oncogenes and growth factors.  more info

OSTI Science Accelerator
Searchable access to scientific and technical information in the physical sciences and other disciplines.  more info

Oxford Reference Collection - Biological Sciences
Search reference books by subject area.  more info

Plant Science (CSA)
Scientific literature on all aspects of plant science, 1994 - current.  more info

Pollution Abstracts (CSA)
Information on scientific research and government policies related to pollution.  more info

Public Library of Science -- Biology
New online journal from the Public Library of Science.  more info

PubMed
Provides access to over 18 million citations in 5,246 medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to the 1950s.  more info

Risk Abstracts (CSA)
Assessment and management of risk from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources.  more info

Toxicology Abstracts (CSA)
Survey of toxicology literature.  more info

TOXLINE
Access to information in all areas of toxicology.  more info

Virology and AIDS Abstracts (CSA)
Abstracts of literature of virology in humans, animals, and plants.  more info

Water Resources Abstracts (CSA)
Covers the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources.  more info

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am -5pm Mon - Fri  more info

 

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Daria O. Carle

Need More Help?

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait