This is the "Home" page of the "Alaska Medical Library / Health Sciences Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alaska Medical Library / Health Sciences Collections   Tags: allied_health, health, nursing  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/aml Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UAA/APU Community or Healthcare Provider?

UAA/APU Students and Faculty
Our staff is here to help you succeed in your studies and research with handouts, video demonstrations, and consultations. Drop in 9a - 5p Monday through Friday for quick questions. Please call or email to set up an appointment for in-depth research assistance.


Healthcare Providers
The Alaska Medical Library, while part of the Consortium Library at the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), also serves Alaska's healthcare community.  This is a fee-based service.  Healthcare providers should visit our website for services and resources selected for them.

 

 

Health Sciences Collections

Health sciences collections are accessible and free to the public on the second floor of the Consortium Library.

Books
Pre-clinical titles are found in the Qs.  Most of the titles are found in the Ws.  Some psychology titles can be found in the Bs and HVs.  Our growing collection of e-books is found in the library catalog.


Health Journals
The health journals are located “across the bridge”.  The journals are shelved by the major words in the title (of, the, for, etc. are ignored).  The alphabet begins on the left, crosses the aisle from the low shelving to the high shelving in a weaving “s” formation.  With the move to purchasing online versions of many of the journal titles, this collection is often the older years for major medical, nursing, and allied health titles.  However, we still purchase print versions for over 150 titles.


Health Reference
This collection can be found outside the Alaska Medical Library offices.  Directories, a few encyclopedias, and at least one major book for most medical disciplines are kept on these shelves for in-library use only.  Health reference titles can also be found as e-books in the library catalog. 


Historical
The back of the reference shelving unit houses the historical health sciences collection.  Older editions of classic nursing books and a few historical medical books can be found here.  These items can be checked out and read at your leisure. 


Anatomy Resources
Models of the head and mouth are available for in-library use.

AnatomyTV - is an online tool with over 4,000 3D anatomical structures. 


DVDs
This format is shelved in the Media Room separated into leisure and academic sections.


Websites

Arctic Health is great for locating Alaskan health material

MedlinePlus as the key consumer health website for many health-related topics

Consumer Health is a collection of websites chosen by the medical librarians at UAA.

 

Map of the Second Floor

 

Alaska Medical Library

 Contact us:
aml@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: 907.786.1870 or
1.888.997.7878 (in AK)
Fax: 907.562.2122

Loading
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip