This is the "Home" page of the "Women in Alaska Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women in Alaska Collections   Tags: feminism, primary_sources, women  

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to women's experiences in Alaska. They are listed below in alphabetical order. Follow the links to a more complete list of each collection's contents.
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCwomenscollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Women in Alaska Collections

Follow the links to collection guides below that relate to women’s experiences in Alaska.  Please keep in mind that this list is not comprehensive.  There are many other guides relating to women in Alaska on the main UAA Archives & Special Collections website.  You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on that website.

Alaska Press Women records; 1961-1991. HMC-0026.  Records of an organization founded to encourage journalistic excellence and create opportunities for women in the field of journalism.

Alaska Women's Oral History Project records; 1965-1982.  HMC-0037. The Alaska Women's Oral History Project was founded to collect and compile the reminiscences of pioneer Alaskan women born between 1866 and 1937.

Marilynn S. Barks papers; circa 1939-1961.  HMC-0478. Letters and papers of an Alaskan woman who worked in the mining business.

Ramona Barnes papers; circa 1980-2000.  HMC-0502.  Ramona Barnes (1938-2003) served for 20 years as representative in the Alaska legislature for East Anchorage.  She holds the record for the longest-serving woman legislator in Alaska history.

Alice E. Brown papers; 1965-1973.  HMC-1060.  Papers of a member of the Alaska Federation of Natives’ Board of Directors and advocate for the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act.

Kay Brown papers; 1983-1996.  HMC-0457.  Kay Brown served in many positions in the Alaska state government, including as a member of the House of Representatives for Anchorage from 1986-1996. 

Genie Chance papers; 1964-1972. HMC-0084.  Genie Chance was a journalist who achieved note as a broadcaster during the earthquake of 1964. She served in the state house (1969-1975) and state senate (1975-1979). The collection contains personal and professional papers, legislative papers, tapes and recordings, books on the earthquake, and photos.

Ann Chandonnet papers; 1942-2007. HMC-0085. Personal papers, writings, and research files of an Alaskan poet, author, and journalist.

Lucy Hon Cuddy papers; 1890-1979. HMC-0095. Lucy Cuddy, wife of banker Warren Cuddy, worked as a school principal, member of the Board of Regents of the University of Alaska, and Chairman of the Board of the First National Bank of Alaska. Included are copies of her diaries and a one-volume collection of her reminiscences.

Barbara D. Dimock family papers; circa 1865-2004.  HMC-0895. Papers of a politician, women's rights advocate and operator of the Bethel Roadhouse.

Benzie Ola "Rusty" Dow papers. ca. 1910-1989. HMC-0397.Diaries, journals, photographs and other papers of the first woman to drive the Alcan Highway from Fairbanks to Dawson Creek in 1944.

Donna Broderick Gavac papers; 1971-1987. HMC-0111.  Dr. Gavac was an administrator at Anchorage Community College. The collection includes papers dealing with administration, accreditation, faculty and student affairs, and the first strike at ACC.

Elinor Delight Gregg videocassette; 1936. HMC-0424.  Videocasette copy of a 1936 film of a Bureau of Indian Affairs nurse to Alaska.

Hans and Margaret Hafemeister papers; 1943-1995. HMC-0126. Includes Margaret Hafemeister’s papers regarding her work as a social worker in Alaska.

Robert and Wilma Knox papers; 1949-2001. HMC-0461.  Wilma Knox was a photographer and journalist who also worked for the Alaska Department of Tourism and collaborated with her husband on a book on camping in Alaska and the Yukon. The collection contains copies of her writings and photographs.

Dove Kull papers; 1924-1991.  HMC-0385.  Dove Kull (1897-1991) was active in social work, child welfare, and women’s issues in Alaska and served as the director of Alaska Homemaker Services, Inc. from 1968-mid 1970s, among other positions.

Christine McClain papers; 1907-1992. HMC-0370.  Papers, articles, and photographs of an Anchorage area free-lance writer.

Sally Monserud papers; 1907-1990. HMC-0179.  Sally Monserud was one of the original faculty at Anchorage Community College (ACC) where she taught English from 1954through the mid-1970s. The collection consists of materials relating to her life and to the history of ACC.

Peter R. and Beulah Marrs Parisi papers; 1938-1995. HMC-0445. Beulah "Bee" Marrs came to Alaska in 1941 and worked for the Bristol Bay Air Service and Morrison-Knudson Construction Company. She was active in the USO in Anchorage and became the official hostess of its "Friendly Log Cabin" during World War II. The collection contains copies of her scrapbooks and photographs relating to her USO activities. The volumes include clippings, photographs, programs, and other materials.

Norma M. Purdy papers; 1951-1962.  HMC-1028-AHS.  Correspondence, photographs, and memorabilia of a U.A. Air Force nurse who was stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage from 1952-1954.

Joseph and Lisa Rudd papers; 1933-1985. HMC-0212. Lisa Rudd served on the Alaska State Commission for Human Rights, the Governor's Equal Employment Committee, and served as legislator in the Alaska House of Representatives.  Her papers document her activities in the women's rights movement, including her involvement in establishing women's shelters established in a number of Alaskan communities, including Anchorage. 

Lorena Showers papers; 1945-1997. HMC-0221. Lorena Showers moved to Alaska in 1940. She was a waitress and an active member of the Hotel and Restaurant Workers Union. She negotiated the first union health program in Alaska in 1952 and was a member of the Employment Security Commission Advisory Council, the Older Persons Action Group, and other groups. The collection contains papers and publications relating to her life and activities.

Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1974-1997.  HMC-0467.  Papers of an Alaskan senator, gubernatorial candidate, and member of the Greater Anchorage Area Planning Commission, Anchorage Charter Commission, and Anchorage Municipal Assembly.

Julia Willma Weber papers; ca. 1890-1901. HMC-0344.  Diary of Julia’s mother, Myrtle Ryan, who traveled in the Klondike and lived in Nome in 1900-1901.

 

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip