Skip to main content

Journalism and Broadcasting

Archives' collections that relate to journalism and broadcasting.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women in Alaska collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Press Women records; 1961-1991. HMC-0026.  This collection contains the archives of the Alaska Press Women, an organization which encourages professional journalistic standards and promotes opportunities for women in the field in Alaska. Besides organization records, there are also copies of their newsletter "Arctic-ulation," scrapbooks, photographs, and other record.

 

Russell Annabel papers; 1942-1945. HMC-0516.  Russell "Rusty" Annabel was a United Press war correspondent in Alaska during World War II. He reported on land based operations, as well as from aboard ship during every major battle of the year-long Aleutian campaign. Annabel filed over 600 reports between August 1942 and the end of 1945. He was also assigned to the Far East where he followed troops to Okinawa, Japan and China. This collection consists of Russell Annabel’s transcripts of dispatches, annotated dispatches, correspondence, article clippings, and photograph materials.

 

Armed Forces Radio in Sitka and Kodiak Oral History Project transcripts; 1981-1984. HMC-0062. These are transcripts of oral history interviews with people who were involved with the armed forces radio stations in Sitka and Kodiak during World War II. They document the history of armed forces radio in Alaska. The project was funded by the Sitka Historical Society and the Alaska Historical Commission.

 

Atwood family papers; 1906-2003. HMC-0989.  The Atwood family owned and ran the largest newspaper in the state, the Anchorage Times, from 1935-1989. The collection contains records related to the running of the Anchorage Time, and notes, research, drafts of articles and editorials written by Bob Atwood. The Atwood Foundation funds the the University of Alaska Anchorage Atwood Chair of Journalism. Records related to the formation and running of the Atwood Chair of Journalism is included in the collection.

 

Genie Chance papers; 1964-1972. HMC-0084.  Genie Chance was a newspaper reporter, radio broad-caster, and state legislator. Included are papers which document her journalistic activities, in particular the 1964 Alaska Earthquake. There are audio tapes of broadcasts relating to the earthquake and other papers.

 

Ann Fox Chandonnet papers; 1942-1989. HMC-0085.  Ann Chandonnet, author (poetry, history, and cook books) and former English teacher, was a food editor and children's book reviewer for the Anchorage Daily News and a writer for the Anchorage Times. Included are papers relating to her work as an author among which are correspondence, drafts, research, reviews, and other papers.

 

Herb Hilscher papers; 1905-1956. HMC-1001. He worked as a newspaper stringer in Asia in the 1930s and returned to the United States in 1938 to work for the Hearst newspaper corporation. In 1942, Hilscher was editor of the Lake Washington Shipyards newspaper, On the Ways. Hilscher’s research and writing files contain research notes and materials used for his articles and projects. While his publications and scrapbooks contain articles written by Herb Hilscher.

 

Robert and Wilma Knox papers; 1949-2001. HMC-0461. Robert and Wilma Knox were journalists who worked for a number of newspapers and magazines in Alaska and elsewhere. They were also free lance writers and authors of a book on camping in Alaska and the Yukon. The collection contains copies of their publications, clipping books, scrapbooks, photographs, and other materials. Also included are a journal of their trip to Alaska, and over 300 photos relating to the Alaska earthquake in 1964.

 

KTOO FM and TV. Exxon Valdez Oil Spill News Coverage audiocassettes; 1989. HMC-0369.  This collection of 164 recordings documenting public radio coverage of the Exxon Valdez oil spill and related subjects. The stations and networks represented include KSKA Anchorage, KCHU Valdez, KTOO Juneau, and the Alaska and national public radio networks.

 

Christine M. McClain papers; 1907-1992. HMC-0370.  Christine McClain was a longtime employee of the Alaska Communications System (ACS) and a freelance journalist. Her papers document her writing career, and include short stories, non-fiction articles, manuscripts, subject files, and papers concerning the ACS.

 

John E. Manders audio recordings and papers; 1950-1962. HMC-0386.  John Manders, attorney, was a mayor of Anchorage (1945-1946) and a candidate for United States Senate in 1958. The collection consists of audio recordings of speeches and interviews by Manders and others on various Alaskan and non Alaskan subjects, including statehood, communism, and state and national politics.

 

Older Persons Action Group records; 1968-2006.  HMC-0193.  This group is an advocate for senior citizens in Alaska on housing, health and welfare, and legislation affecting the elderly. It also works with other agencies to provide programs and services for the elderly. OPAG publishes a newspaper, Senior Voice, and hosts a radio program "Senior Sound." The collection contains the archives of OPAG which include copies of the Senior Voice and tapes of "Senior Sound" radio broadcasts.

 

Marguerite Reiss papers; 1943-2004. HMC-0207.  Marguerite Reiss (later Kern) was born in Ohio and worked as a reporter for a number of newspapers including the Akron Beacon Journal, the Columbus Dispatch, the Marion Commentator, the Washington D.C. Times Herald, the Lorain Journal, and the Oberlin Times. She also did freelance writing for various magazines and newspapers including Guideposts, Camping Journal, the St. Louis Post Dispatch, and the Toledo Blade. She wrote several articles about Alaska which were published in Reader's Digest and other magazines. The collection consists of biographical materials, published and unpublished works by Marguerite Reiss, photographs, oral history transcripts, and other papers.

 

Ward Sims papers; 1964. HMC-0222.  Ward Sims was the Bureau Chief for the Associated Press (AP) in Juneau at the time of the 1964 Earthquake in Alaska. The collection consists of the original AP wire copies regarding the quake for the period of March 27-31. Included are messages from stations in Juneau, Fairbanks, and Anchorage as well as a booklet on the AP coverage of the event.

 

Society for Technical Communication Alaska Chapter records; 1981-1991. HMC-0415.  This chapter exists to advance the arts and sciences of technical communication through its association with the parent organization, and through various activities such as workshops, seminars, and a newsletter. The records include meeting records, newsletters, chapter reports, correspondence, and conference programs.

 

Catherine Stadem papers; 1927-2013. HMC-0879.  Catherine Stadem worked as a freelance theatre critic, staff writer, and assistant editorial page editor for the Anchorage Times. The collection contains review files, which include playbills Stadem used to write her theatre review columns. 

 

John Strohmeyer papers; 1946-2007. HMC-1073.  John Strohmeyer is a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist, who began his career as a night reporter for the Bethlehem-Globe Times. Strohmeyer won the Pulitzer in 1972, for a series of editorials he wrote on race and labor relations in the city of Bethlehem, Pa. In 1987, he accepted a position as a visiting Atwood Chair of Journalism at the University of Alaska Anchorage. The papers consist mainly of notes, articles, and interviews collected by Strohmeyer in the course of his work as journalist and author while living and working in Anchorage, Alaska. 

 

William J. Tobin papers; 1933-2009. HMC-1054.  William J. Tobin was the managing editor, editor-in-chief, and Vice President of the Anchorage Times until its closure in 1992.. Tobin served as the senior editor of The Voice of the Times, which was published as part of the Anchorage Daily News. The collection consists of news clippings, editorials, and correspondence during William Tobin’s employment at the Anchorage Times and Anchorage Daily News. 

 

Millie Wedel-Cowgill papers; 1950-2009. HMC-1062.  From 1970-1976 she pursued postgraduate work in communications at Stanford, Foothill College (radio broadcasting), and the College of San Mateo (television production). Millie Wedel-Cowgill also taught journalism and English at Alaska Pacific University (formerly AMU) and the University of Alaska Anchorage.  In addition to being an educator, she was on the KAKM Board of Directors and ran her own private production company, Wedel Productions.  Wedel Productions produced materials for the news, public service announcement brochures, filmstrips, TV, and radio.  The production company also created branding and scripts. Millie Wedel-Cowgill was also a member of the Alaska Press Women and Alaska Press Club.

 

Lyman and Betsy "Betzi" Woodman Papers; 1914-1989. HMC-0353.  Lyman Woodman, a former soldier, was an editor or public information officer for various government and military offices. He began a career as a free lance writer in 1947 and has authored numerous articles and books. Betsy Woodman, was a newspaperwoman and writer for Anchorage area papers. This collection contains papers and reference material collected by the Woodmans for various writing projects, drafts, and publications.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page