This is the "Start" page of the "Foreign languages collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Foreign languages collections  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCforeignlanguage Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Start Print Page
  Search: 
 

Foreign language collections

Archives and Special Collections concentrates on collecting archival materials with an Alaskan connection. Some of our collections do contain materials in languages other than English, however many of the collections are predominately in English, with some materials in another language. This is not a comprehensive list of all collections with foreign language materials in our repository.

Follow the links below to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages. If you are looking for a specific language, you may wish to try a language name search.

 

American Russian Center (ARC) records; 1990-2008.  UAA-0046.  While collection materials are predominately in English, some are in Russian.

Richard Dauenhauer papers; 1961-1985.  HMC-0099.  These papers primarily related to Richard Dauenhauer’s work as a poet, educator, and translator, including drafts of writings, correspondence, and curriculum materials. The collection contains translation of Finnish, Alaska Native, and German works.

Grace and John Vincent Hoeman papers; 1952-1971.  HMC-0887.  Papers of Alaskan mountaineers. A majority of the collection materials are in English, however some are in German.

Johanson-Erickson family papers; 1887-1971.  HMC-0356.  Papers and photographs of family who owned the mine Erickson’s Gold Mine in Crow Creek. While a majority of the materials in the collection are in English, there is some postcard correspondence in Swedish.

Charles V. Lucier papers; 1903-2009.  HMC-0165.  This collection contains the papers and photographs of an Alaska anthropologist and archaeologist. Collection materials are primarily in English, however there are materials in Inupiaq, most having English translations.

Nicandro Mancha photograph album; 1942-1943.  HMC-0855.  This collection contains a photograph album of a Mexican-American serviceman who was stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II. The collection does include some Spanish language materials.

Frederick A. Milan papers; circa 1943-1995.  HMC-0687.  Papers of an anthropologist, linguist, and human physiologist who worked in Alaska and other Arctic regions. While materials are predominately in English, some are in Lappish and various Alaska Native languages.

Warren J. and Marguerite K. Nystrom papers; 1757-1971.  HMC-0191. The collection contains papers collected by an Anchorage family documenting Alaska history. Russian language materials include the Russian/English newspaper Alaska Herald for the years 1868 and 1875, and photocopies of Russian documents about Alaska dating from 1757 and 1862.

Harold and Roxolana Pomeroy papers; 1893-2008.  HMC-0564.  Papers of a couple who homesteaded at Bear Cove in Kachemak Bay. Roxolana Pomeroy was a Ukrainian-born refugee. Languages of collection material include German, Italian, Latin, and Ancient Greek.

William W. “Bill” Richards papers; 1976-2004.  HMC-0693.  The collection contains materials relating to the Social Transitions in the North project. While some material is in English, there are also a majority of Russian language materials. 

Dave Rose papers; 1960-2006.  HMC-0977.  Papers of an Anchorage assemblyman and first director of the Alaska Permanent Fund. While most of the collection is in English, there are materials in Russian and Azerbaijani.

Jack Scavenius papers; 1920-1976.  HMC-0491.  The collection contains the papers of a pilot and diplomat in Anchorage. Scavenius was born in Denmark and eventually served as vice council for Denmark after he moved to Anchorage. The collection is primarily in English, however some materials are in Danish.

Stoll family papers; 1915-1978.  HMC-0236.  The collection contains the papers and photographs of a family that ran Alaska Pacific Consolidated Mining Company and Independence Mine. While the collection is mainly in English, there are some maps, reports, notes, and correspondence in Spanish.

David and Jenny Strandberg family papers; 1897-1970.  HMC-0357.   Papers of the family who ran Strandberg and Sons Mines, Incorporated. The collection materials are mainly in English, however there are correspondence and school records written in Swedish.

Isaac and Margaret Wieler translations; 1979.  HMC-1030-AHS.  This collection contains copies of two shipwreck account books for the ship Neva, which wrecked off the port of Archangel (now Sitka), in 1812. The accounts were written in Russian. The collection also contains the English translations.

Fred Winter diary transcripts and translations; circa 1963-1974.  HMC-1111.  This collection contains transcripts and translations of the diaries of a trapper dating from 1922-1938. The collection contains both German and English translations of the diaries.

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip